PDA

View Full Version : Dodgy Clouds Outlines

bigcoolme21
06-05-2007, 11:48 AM
Hello everybody im a noob ere so be nice =) im trying to render this large enviroment... with a sphere of enviroment fog and blobby clouds inside.... you can see the problem, theres an outline underneath the clouds which appears regardless of raytracing/rendering quality

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i22/bigcoolme21/LATEST.jpg

Any thoughts?

On another note... which aspects of that scene do you think would be worth baking to speed up rendering? ATM its about 6 mins a frame

Thankys

bwheels02
06-05-2007, 10:11 PM
considering the size of the scene which seems large. 6 mins isn't bad. Using Mental Ray etc. would take way, way longer. Anyways, see if the line is being caused by some sort of geomoetry. that's what it looks like. Maybe that is what's casting the round crisp shadow on the ground?? Possibly trying to increase your Far clip plane in your camera settings to 1,000,000.? Hope this helps.

bigcoolme21
06-06-2007, 06:35 PM
The line on th ground is a shadow of the dome... thats all good. I tried increasing th camera clipping plane... no luck. Im pretty sure th line on the clouds is something to do with th alpha map, its similar to the outlines you get on shadows cast with raytracing, almost transparent but not quite. The solution to that was turning 'shadow attentuation' in the textures mental ray attributes to zero, but the 3D cloud texture doesnt have that tab

That scene was rendered in mental ray btw....

bwheels02
06-06-2007, 10:39 PM
Well 6 min for mental ray is good (in my opinion). so what exactly is the dome used for? it makes sense to me that what you are seeing is the dome intersecting with the environment fog where its geometry ends. its curved like a hemisphere and you are using one to cast a shadow correct?? If there is any geometry (dome) where that line is occuring chage the render stats of the object. Uncheck Primary visability in the attribute editor.