PDA

View Full Version : I few questions im stuck with..

eek
03-17-2003, 09:50 AM
hey,

Ive got a few questions/problems im stuck with in max 4. Firstly can you have a position constraint on one axis. And another on another axis?

Does anyone know how write a max expression to say: A is evenly positioned between B and C in the say x axis?

Basically i want to constrain an object between 2 others but have different amounts for different axis so for its x it moves 50% z the same but for y 50% / 10?

Also does anyone know if its possible to do additive blending with poses comprised from CA?

Any help,

eek

eek
03-17-2003, 03:05 PM
nothing!!

Jol
03-17-2003, 04:20 PM
Hi Eek,

Jon Baker pointed this out to me. I'm just learning expressions so not too techy with them but I tried something which seems to work.

If you have two objects A and B and you wish to have object C mid point between A and B in only the X plane this seems to work

[(A.x+B.x)/2, 0, 0 ]

Where A is object A's world position and B is object B's world position.

Maybe this isn't what you mean, or maybe it falls on it's arse in a rig, I've just tried it with loose dummies?

Cheers

Jol

eek
03-17-2003, 04:25 PM
Hi jol,

No that sounds right!, Its for my Facer8/gollum rig, to give me some more jaw control. But conventional way dont work so i'll give it a try. Can i apply the same expression but to the other axis?

Thanks again,

eek

Jol
03-17-2003, 04:41 PM
Hi Eek

I think if it works OK it should work in all axis. Use the (A.x+B.x)/2 in the X plane and (A.y+B.y)/2 in the Y plane and so on for Z.

If you want a value other than the mid point I guess (A.x=B.x)*0.75 would give you a three quartyers position for example.

Haven't checked to I could be very wrong, let me know if it works.

Cheers

Jol

Jol
03-17-2003, 04:49 PM
[
(A.x+B.x)/2,
(A.y+B.y)/2,
(A.z+B.z)/4
]