PDA

View Full Version : prevent from saving a scene


yznah
05-31-2007, 08:54 AM
is there any way to prevent from saving (ctrl+s) a scene
like if it was a _new_ scene

i have some scripts that destroy scene to export them, and i dont want to lose the orginal file unintontienaly. i need to save them into a new file

i don't like the idea to hack the way maya save file. maybe there is a smarter way?

Robert Bateman
05-31-2007, 10:05 AM
replace the save menu item, change the hotkey assignment for Ctrl+S to your own version.

http://www.robthebloke.org/research/maya/version_control.htm

jiggyfresh
06-05-2007, 12:47 AM
`file -rename ("a_new_scene.ma");`

do that before any saving and you won't risk overwriting/destroying the original file. handy for mass exportation.

yznah
06-05-2007, 06:31 PM
oh thank you! that was exactly what i was looking for :)

CGTalk Moderation
06-05-2007, 06:31 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.