PDA

View Full Version : Help Orienting Joints to Polygon Faces

cornbreadandham
05-31-2007, 02:33 AM
Hello, I'm writing a script to create a joint chain along an edge selection and so far everything works great up to the point where I try to write MEL to align the join orientation to a selected face or edge on creation. I've tried the orientJoint/delete trick but it doesn't seem to work on components(unless I am doing it wrong). Any help would be greatly appreciated! And I am a newbie when it comes to scripting, but I love it so far!
http://www.alloypictures.com/Images/orientJoints.gif

ps: I manually aligned the first joint.

kojala
05-31-2007, 09:26 AM
there has been before threads about listing components in selection order. You could do a search about the subject...if I remember correctly maya list components always in index order...so you had to make a tool to select component in order...that might be your first problem.

alinging joints to edges might be dificult cos maya doest have any tool to do it...atleast I dont know of. but you could aling them to vertex by normal constraint.

cornbreadandham
05-31-2007, 12:15 PM
Hello kojala, the selection order was an issue when I first started but was solved using the undo-redo trick. I'll have to research the vertex normal suggestion, that sounds like it might solve my problem, Thanks,

Todd

grantimus
06-01-2007, 03:55 AM
Let me take a stab at this.

As far as getting elements in selection order, you might want to take a look at script contexts. I know in Maya 7, scriptCtx stopped returning elements in selection order if you wanted an expanded string. I don't know if this is still the case in 8/8.5.

Regarding your orientation problem, what I would do is build a 3x3 transformation matrix (aka directional cosine matrix) and perform an affine conversion to get the needed Euler angles.