PDA

View Full Version : Q: getting started in realtime 3D coding

jussing
03-16-2003, 10:17 PM
Alright folks! :)

Before y'all say "jesus, there's some noob who thinks he can code a 3D shooter in 12 hours", lemme speak my case first... ;)

I do programming for a living, so I know my way around a compiler, and I know you don't just "learn" new programming environments overnight, by just having someone tell you a thing or two...

So, what I am looking for is sort of a "hello world" example of 3D game coding...

-A simple example, that'll demonstrate something along the lines of a textured box, responding to keyboard and mouse, queued sound effects, and an MP3 or WAV playing in the background...

You know, the very basic techniques of 3D game coding. I'll worry about gameplay and animations later...

I'm downloading some "Cg" stuff from nvidia, but before I spend weeks with that, I would like to know if that's the way to go, or if there is something more appropriate for me out there.

-Also, do I need an additional development environment on top of "Cg", like Microsoft Visual Studio?

Thanks in advance for any reply!! ;)

Cheers,
- Jonas

PS: If anyone cares, my next question will be "how do I use my textured models and animations from Maya in my real-time 3D app?" ;)

CGmonkey
03-17-2003, 12:20 AM
Hm.. this may help you or not ;) Just trying to give my 2 cents!

I don't know but you could try out site like..

http://www.flipcode.net & http://www.gamedev.net

Hmm... Your question about models, textures and maya, I think you could download the Microsoft DirectX 9 SDK. It got a built in exporter/importer named X (.X)

Hope this helps mate! :beer:
Good luck!

jussing
03-17-2003, 09:18 AM
Thanks! I will check that out! :thumbsup:

See ya around,
- Jonas

EvoG
03-17-2003, 12:00 PM
Most 3D game coding books will be fairly deceptive, but for the most part, any competent programmer will make more use out of them then someone with little to no programming knowledge.