PDA

View Full Version : Dgs inquiry


cclarke
05-26-2007, 02:28 AM
Hi there. I do alot of motion graphics work at my job and the other day i used
a dgs meterial to get that beautiful reflection its able to produce.
But my problem was that when I rendered my piece using my typical tga seq with alpha
I had no alpha at all when I composited it over another layer in after effects.
Is there a trick to this or is it not possible to be able to create a matte when uing dgs?
if anyone can tell me what Im doing wrong I'll be a happy chap.
Oh i even tryed to create a matte using matte Opacity and it didn't work at all.
For most renders I do say for text to be composited over vision I always use tga seq or tiff
and it just sits ontop of my vision with any background at all.
so Im mift at why dgs does not have an alpha.
cheers to you all.
cc

epq
05-26-2007, 11:03 AM
When rendering MR only shaders u must check the "Pass custom alpha channel"
under Custom Entities on the mental ray tab in render settings dialog.
Or type setAttr "mentalrayGlobals.passAlphaThrough" 1; in the script editor.

/eric

cclarke
05-27-2007, 11:15 AM
thanks eric.
Is that info in the maya help?
thanks man.
cc

epq
05-27-2007, 05:48 PM
I do not think it is.

/eric

CGTalk Moderation
05-27-2007, 05:48 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.