PDA

View Full Version : inserted joint renaming is posible?


shenmue
05-25-2007, 09:57 PM
Hi guys

As usual I get bloqued on most simple things :shrug:.I just want to use the insertJoint command and that the resulting joint is properly named.But the is no flag -n in insertJoint.
I mean,I wish I could do that:insertJoint "originalJoint" -name "myjointnewname";
how can I do that without selecting manualy the joint and renaming it manualy.

Just one more thing.I come from 3d studio max,and for example if I select a Box and write:

a=$
$Box:Box01 @ [-15.242752,-6.087788,0.000000]
a
$Box:Box01 @ [-15.242752,-6.087788,0.000000]

that is what I get.In maya I doesnŽt work the same way the dollar sign for that right??
I tryed renaming the selected node on the viewport, to assign the name,but donŽt know how.

Thanks.Changing from one software to another is harder if I donŽt get some help.:hmm:

Sick Spider
05-25-2007, 10:57 PM
There you go:

string $myNewJoint = `insertJoint joint1`;
rename $myNewJoint "WooHoo";

Just so you know, in general, if building rigs there are much better ways to create/change joints hierarchies...

shenmue
05-26-2007, 12:03 AM
Thanks man.I learning a lot whit your help.
For now I am just running some tests before starting building rigs with Mel.I am not jumping directly on a Rig generator.Learning the basics.But I hope IŽll be able to build a biped rig generator in a couple of months.So,IŽll keep investigating.
:bounce:

mhovland
05-27-2007, 12:55 PM
The dollar sign in Maxscript means what is selected.

In Mel it is a special character that denotes a variable. All variables start with a $ in Mel.

shenmue
05-28-2007, 05:05 PM
Oky.Thanks mhovland.Understood :thumbsup:

DEVILSAN
05-05-2008, 12:36 AM
There you go:

string $myNewJoint = `insertJoint joint1`;
rename $myNewJoint "WooHoo";

Just so you know, in general, if building rigs there are much better ways to create/change joints hierarchies...


how should i batch rename joints that all shud end up with _JNT

mhovland
05-05-2008, 01:36 PM
string $joints[] = `ls -type "joint"`;

for($cur in $joints)
{
rename $cur ($cur+"_JNT");
}

Haven't tested, as I don't have Maya on this machine, but the above should work.

CGTalk Moderation
05-05-2008, 01:36 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.