PDA

View Full Version : Mental Ray Fatal error


hensleyb
05-25-2007, 01:32 AM
How do I figure out what the fatal error is? All it says is, "fatal error, you machine is now unstable, save and restart Maya."

eddgarpv
05-25-2007, 01:42 AM
Are you using any geo shader? Maybe something related to framebuffers?
This has only happened here when using ar_GeoInst (Geoshader for instances) and the name of the object to intance is wrong.

hensleyb
05-25-2007, 05:10 PM
Thanks for the respnose eddgarpv. I don't have any geoshaders in the scene. I narrowed the issue to three objects that have transparent lambert shaders applied to them. If I delete them, the scENe renders OK. I've decide to use render layers to solve the problem.

CGTalk Moderation
05-25-2007, 05:10 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.