PDA

View Full Version : Particle Engine Fields

mass
05-23-2007, 08:47 PM
Hello,

I wrote a 3D particle engine (real original right?) based on various sources found on the internet, and now I am trying to figure out how to add fields to effect the flow. I built it off of differnt sorces becuse I really didn't know how program in OpenGL some of the other things needed, now that I have something working I would like to build the rest from scratch. If someone knows of any resources with equations/formulas for different fields, would be of great help. I have an idea of how to implement a couple of things like wind and gravity. But it seems almost too simple. Things like sinks, turbulence and attracters I am less confident on. I'm pretty good with the physics and math of it (since I have a degree in physics and engineering) so it doesn’t matter how complicated it needs to be. The numerical analysis won't be a big challenge.

I'd like to show my progress in developing this software on here so that maybe I can get more ideas from this comunity on how to improve it (I have a bunch of ideas already that I would like to implement in it). I will post a couple of pics of the program when I get home from work.

Thanks for the help,

Ron

Ian Jones
05-23-2007, 09:36 PM