PDA

View Full Version : Textures are blurred in MR


Dracula24
05-23-2007, 08:36 PM
I triyed to render a sequence in Mental Ray (size: 640X320). The problem is that all my textures are blurred (out of focus). The textures are .tif and look in photoshop verry sharp (1024X1024 72dpi).

Whitch attribute shall i raise in MR, so that my textures become sharp.
In Maya Software the textures look better.

hakanpersson
05-24-2007, 12:33 AM
your rendersettings: quality preset "production" of course. Than you can switch filter to mitchell. You can also lower the texturefilter from 1 to 0.1 or similiar, in your texturefile node under /Effects. And in worst cases you can even raise the amount of samples in the rendersettings. Now it should be pretty decent quality at least..

/Håkan

ftaswin
05-24-2007, 01:10 AM
turn filtering off on your file texture node, assuming u r using maya file texture node

fomal
05-24-2007, 01:49 PM
Yup, that does the trick. Had the same problen with mental ray and switched the filter to 0.2 or 0.1. Same thing with the bump map.

Marlboro-Man
05-24-2007, 04:33 PM
your rendersettings: quality preset "production" of course. Than you can switch filter to mitchell. You can also lower the texturefilter from 1 to 0.1 or similiar, in your texturefile node under /Effects. And in worst cases you can even raise the amount of samples in the rendersettings. Now it should be pretty decent quality at least..

/Håkan



Hey there Hakanpersson,

Isn't Mitchell more blurry than gauss ( the default ).?

I've been having this problem myself.

Marlboro

living3d
05-24-2007, 06:02 PM
Isn't Mitchell more blurry than gauss ( the default ).?

Marlboro

Mitchell is the most sharp filtering...

MaNdRaK18
05-24-2007, 06:14 PM
Mitchell is the most sharp filtering...

Nope, 'Mitchell' is closest to "ideal" filter. It's very sharp and clear, sharper than 'Gauss'.
But sharpest filter type is 'Lanczos'.

living3d
05-24-2007, 07:10 PM
Nope, 'Mitchell' is closest to "ideal" filter. It's very sharp and clear, sharper than 'Gauss'.
But sharpest filter type is 'Lanczos'.

Yes, you're right but mitchell is sharp enough. It helps to creates nice and crisp images and it's especially great for architectural visualization.

Marlboro-Man
05-24-2007, 07:42 PM
Why is the default set at Gauss then? What's gauss usually used for? Everythign I render out of gauss comes out defocused....

MaNdRaK18
05-24-2007, 10:00 PM
Why is the default set at Gauss then? What's gauss usually used for? Everythign I render out of gauss comes out defocused....

Not sure what 'default' You are talkin' about.
As I know, default multi-pixel filter is 'Box' set to 1, 1.
'Gauss' is good for animations, reduces flicker with minimal cost.

Dracula24
05-25-2007, 12:41 AM
Thx for your reply.
Now I am using the filter mitchell (or Lanczos) and turned down the texturefilter from 1 to 0.1 and my textures are really sharp.

Great!! thx again. :thumbsup:

misterJoj
05-25-2007, 12:42 AM
Gauss is the default filter when you choose "Production" presets. And yes it's better for animation. I your scene contains a lot of details, the mitchel filter will make your animation flick too much. that's why it more often used for architectural render

Marlboro-Man
05-25-2007, 06:59 AM
thanks mr.joj,

that was a good explaination :)

M

MaNdRaK18
05-25-2007, 02:19 PM
Gauss is the default filter when you choose "Production" presets.

That explains it. :)
I always start from default, tune settings according to my needs, and boost only necessary ones.

andreagenor
05-26-2007, 07:00 PM
render settings

Sampler:
Min: 0
Max: 2

Filter : Mitchell

Check Jitter!

Contrast R: 0.004 or less
Contrast G: 0.004 or less
Contrast B: 0.004 or less
Contrast A: 0.002 or less

Turn of file node Pre Filter

file Node > Effects > Filter: 0.000

MinaRagaie
05-26-2007, 07:47 PM
Contrast R: 0.004 or less
Contrast G: 0.004 or less
Contrast B: 0.004 or less
Contrast A: 0.002 or less



Woooowooooo....
with these values u better be rendering a single frame... For animation, I doubt with such values the render time would be acceptable...
I never went below 0.04 and still got fine results.

Using a filter of 0.000 would give the sharpest texture but u still risk flickering if you render out animation...

no offence but I think using non filtered textures, and very low contrast settings, you'd be sacrificing much render time.

-Mina

living3d
05-26-2007, 08:54 PM
no offence but I think using non filtered textures, and very low contrast settings, you'd be sacrificing much render time.[/font]

-Mina

Maybe for animation you don't need a very low contrast settings but for architectural renderings (for production) i always change the contrast below 0.005. This is because for some regions of an image it's not always enough min 0 (1 sample per pixel) but max 2 is usually ok. And by decreasing contrast settings you allow more sampling in contrast area.
So...before increasing sampling play with contrast settings. It can save your time.

btw, sorry...it's not thread about sampling :)

MinaRagaie
05-26-2007, 09:57 PM
you do have a point about lowering the contrast thershold before changing the max value but... here are the settings that work for me (for a Sharp image)...

Min 0 Max 2
contrast RGBA 0.05 0.05 0.05 0.05
Mitchell 4 4

Texture filter 0.1 on all texture nodes

For animation I might consider some higher texture filter values...
and Gauss 3 3 is always a safe choice if u don't mind a softer image (some would think of that as an artistic choice, not always a draw back)

and yes it's not about a thread about sampling... but sampling and filtering are very related :)

-Mina

Dracula24
05-27-2007, 12:49 AM
When you use this attributes:

Min 0 Max 2
contrast RGBA 0.05 0.05 0.05 0.05
Mitchell 4 4
Texture filter 0.1 on all texture nodes

what is your render time? Lets say for a detailed arhitecture scene. 640x360 scene with global ilumination.
My actualy scene needs 15min/frame to render. That is too much, isn`t it! Or is this a normal render time?

I use a mac G5 2x2GHz 2,5 GB Ram

CGTalk Moderation
05-27-2007, 12:49 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.