PDA

View Full Version : Problems with GI and V6.01 anyone?


giant551
05-22-2007, 08:47 PM
Just wondering if anyone has had any problems with global illumination with 6.01. I have just moved from 5.11 in the last week and found sometimes when i try to do GI the lights don't work properly, for example i can't adjust the photon intensity and also some of the 5.11 scenes i have loaded into 6.01 GI doesn't work at all. I also found that you need to select photon rebuild to enable GI in 6.01 which i'm sure i didn't have to do before.

Now ive found the new render manager a little bit of a handfull to say the least but i'm pretty sure ive enabled GI correctly. Ive gone back to 5.11 for the moment as i'm struggling to get a decent render quality from 6, for example my renders allways seem to look a little fuzzy around the edges compared to 5.11. Its kind of frustrating at the moment as i really want to use the new arch shaders and the physical sky stuff looks great.

cheers

Paul


http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y248/giant551/test.jpg
(http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y248/giant551/test.jpg)

Strang
05-22-2007, 09:24 PM
gaussian filter is default in 6...

not sure about your other problems

giant551
05-23-2007, 07:21 AM
thanks for that, little thinks like that really catch me out !!! Still a bit wierd with the GI seams to sometimes work and sometimes not !!

CGTalk Moderation
05-23-2007, 07:21 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.