PDA

View Full Version : Normals pass in maya software


techmage
05-22-2007, 08:42 PM
Is there a shader for maya software that will output a world normals pass?

Or is there someway to rig this with existing nodes?

hakanpersson
05-23-2007, 11:56 AM
try the sampler info node in the hypershade. You can connect normalcamera, point world etc to the color of a material. there is also renderlayers and the preset "normal map" that might be what you are looking for.

your solution should be somewhere in either of those

/Håkan

MaNdRaK18
05-23-2007, 03:21 PM
Pixero has JS Normalmapper shader for Maya Software renderer:
www.pixero.com/downloads_maya.html

ggladsto
05-24-2007, 05:35 AM
Is there a shader for maya software that will output a world normals pass?

Or is there someway to rig this with existing nodes?

The samplerInfo node will provide the normal in camera space, however it also provides a matrix (matrixEyeToWorld) that you can use to transform the normal into world space. To accomplish this just connect the normalCamera attrbute from a samplerInfo node to the input1 attribute of a vectorProduct node. Then connect the matrixEyeToWorld attribute of the samplerInfo node to the matrix attribute of the vectorProduct node. Then make sure the operation attribute of the vectorProduct node is set to Vector Matrix Product. The output of the vectorProduct node will then be the surface normal in world space!

Note that this works as expected in the Maya software renderer, but does not translate correctly into mental ray.

CGTalk Moderation
05-24-2007, 05:35 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.