PDA

View Full Version : Cannot Load Environment File in PASS

MarkInTx
05-22-2007, 03:40 AM
This is weird, because it worked a few days ago, and for the life of me, I can't think of what I've done to make things go awry...

I am following along with the Digital Tutors Introduction to XSI DVD. In the rendering section, they tell you how you can quickly add an environmental file to do lighting tests. (Problem is that they don't actually include the TwoTrees.JPG on the DVD... but, anyway...)

They tell you to go into the Render Mode. Click PASS. and Edit CURRENT PASS.

Their version is slightly different from XSI 6, but then I click the pass shaders tab, and click on the ADD button by the environment section.

I get a file chooser box and browse to where my background is.

But, when I select it, I get the following error. How can it not exist??? I am selecting it through the file chooser!

Am I forgetting a step somewhere? Because it seems to me that this used to work!

http://www.digitalartistguild.com/Tests/XSIError.jpg

visualboo
05-22-2007, 01:35 PM
Instead of choosing the background image itself, choose "environment" and plug an image into that ppg.

MarkInTx
05-22-2007, 09:17 PM
Instead of choosing the background image itself, choose "environment" and plug an image into that ppg.

Thanks! Yep... that was it!

So... can I ask another...?

How do I size the background image so it fits the scale of my model (or vice versa?)

visualboo
05-23-2007, 01:21 PM
The scale of your model?

MarkInTx
05-23-2007, 09:48 PM
OK... I guess I didn't make much sense, huh?

Here is a screenshot showing the background image I want to use, and the result when I use it. It is zoomed in to some size I don't want, making it out of scale with my model, an makes it pixelate.

I was wondering if there is a way to change the size of the background image so it matched my model.

Does that make sense?

http://www.digitalartistguild.com/Tests/XSIbackgroundtest.jpg

JamesMK
05-23-2007, 09:57 PM