PDA

View Full Version : Dear Autodesk

royter
05-21-2007, 06:18 PM
I just finished a game concept project 2 weeks ago. You can check the blog and watch the game preview: http://sor.typepad.com/

It was 3 month of intense work; I used both Maya 7 and 8.5, and Mental ray.

It was a constant struggle with the mental ray implementation in Maya, I spent 60% of my time solving problems and 40% of my time designing, building and lighting the scene.

I have been using mental ray for 4 years now, and I just don’t understand why basic and simple things witch exists in other renderes don’t exist or work properly in Mental ray especially in Maya 8.5.

1-Why isn’t the diffuse value of the Maya Lambert shader equal to the diffuse value of the mental ray Lambert shader? Even if I set both the color and diffuse value of the Maya Lambert shader to 0.5 and the diffuse value of the Mental ray Lambert shader also to 0.5, when I render the mental ray shader is way to brighter.

2-a-Now, thanks to Autodesk we can preview the textures of the mental ray shaders in the view port. But we all know that the right way to apply a texture to a mental ray shader is by applying a:

mib_texture_vector plugged to mib_texture_remap plugged to mib_texture_lookup (witch contains the texture) plugged to the diffuse slot of a Mental ray Lambert shader.

Unfortunately you can not preview that kind of texture in the view port (witch is the right way to apply textures to MR shaders……) Why is that?

b-Now to preview textures in the view port, you have to assign a texture to a MR shader the same way you assign a texture to a Maya shader, by plugging a simple 2d_texture_file to the color or diffuse slot of your MR shader. Great… isn’t it!