PDA

View Full Version : Toon Shade


bugo
03-15-2003, 09:09 PM
hey, im interested to do the same toon shade, exact the same shade in the Zelda Wind Waker tittle, i know that the programmers will need some code to do that, but how about a great maya´s shade, I knew two of them, but i dont liked, coz i cant texturize it with the same toon shade, need I put it on multitexture?

Thx, sorry my english!

DrAdamDinosaur
03-16-2003, 12:29 AM
I think if you do a search over at highend3d.com there is a toon shader that not only does the shading but lets you apply a UV unwrapped texture map to it as well. is this what you are looking for?

bugo
03-16-2003, 04:47 AM
yes, but is this for hardware? i need to know how to do it for hardware not for software!!!

Nicool
03-16-2003, 01:47 PM
I've study it before... So it's what I've learned!

For the outline : Duplicate your model and scale it about 10% more. Then add to this second mesh a complete black color.

For the toon shading : you can apply a simple color. But for shading you will to create a software system which color your model function to the light with a thresold.

:beer:

bugo
03-16-2003, 05:55 PM
I have the toon shade material on maya, if I export it, in the engine, what is going to happen? coz inside maya, its not working, I think that I will ask for the programmer to do a plugin for cartoon shader inside it!

Thx for the posts! :thumbsup:

Nicool
03-16-2003, 06:11 PM
Give it yo your programmer;)

http://www.booyah.com/article05-dx9.html
http://developer.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=Cartoon_Rendering_GeForce_256
http://www.codeworx.org/directx_tuts_dd6_3.php

http://www.thisisnurgle.org.uk/articles/opengl4.html

Reply me :beer:

bugo
03-16-2003, 06:19 PM
ow really nice links, i will give it to him, THANKS!!!!

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 04:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.