PDA

View Full Version : How to overlap two UI elements


williamslijp
05-21-2007, 07:10 AM
does anyone know how to overlap two UI elements? (may not useful too normal ppl, but important to me)
like this ↓ it was created in photoshop.

Meecho
05-21-2007, 01:49 PM
hmmm im not sure if you can do anything like that...but if you use "formLayout" (check out Maya help or Google it) you can position the two buttons so that they just overlap on the edges. Never tried anything like it though, so im not sure how it would turn out :/
Tis a strange thing to want to do :P

Andimation
05-21-2007, 04:56 PM
You could overlap them like in the image u posted but one button would have to be over the other in a different layout. I doubt that the buttons will function correctly as the one overlaying would be the managable one.

williamslijp
05-22-2007, 07:29 AM
thx guys, I will try it out/:)

ewerybody
05-22-2007, 08:53 AM
It works but the first buttons clickarea pinches through the second ones. So is like always on topwindow UIwindow;
formLayout UIwindowForm;
button -w 60 -h 30 -label "button1" UIwindowButton1;
button -w 60 -h 30 -label "button2" UIwindowButton2;
setParent ..;
formLayout -edit
-af UIwindowButton1 "top" 20
-af UIwindowButton1 "left" 50
-af UIwindowButton2 "top" 40
-af UIwindowButton2 "left" 70
UIwindowForm;
showWindow UIwindow;

CGTalk Moderation
05-22-2007, 08:53 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.