PDA

View Full Version : Externally run MEL commands in Maya


ChrilleMZ
05-20-2007, 02:53 PM
Hello,

Is there any program that can externally run MEL commands in Maya?

When I write my script now, I need to copy and past everything from my text editor to Maya to execute it.
I want to write my script in my text editor and then execute it in the editor and it should run in Maya. I'm running TextPad for the moment, there is a run function but I don't know how to use it and if it works whit Maya

I know that there is a Mel plug-in named MelStudio, which is a great Mel editor, but it doesn't run i Maya 8.5 =/.

Hopefully there is another way then to use the copy and past method.

/Chrille

GiantG
05-20-2007, 03:57 PM
Try this:
http://www.highend3d.com/maya/tutorials/using_tools_scripts/319.html

ChrilleMZ
05-20-2007, 07:42 PM
Thanks!!

I have just read the first page, but it looks great.
Nice, it has scripting language for Maya API and Maya Python commands to!

Thanks again !!

CGTalk Moderation
05-20-2007, 07:42 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.