PDA

View Full Version : Galactic Jellyfish - Modelling

Swoop
03-15-2003, 05:01 PM
Modelling the opener Galactiv Jellyfish.
Modelling in 3dsmax, and this is my first time doing some real modelling so might take a little time ;)

Hope to be done this weekend, but if stuff gets int he way i appologise :D

Swoop
03-17-2003, 08:56 PM
Well this seemingly simple model just isnt' easy for me .. hehe

Well i have tried like multiple ways of trying to make a sphere (no prob there) or a geosphere and either extrude the arms or use a bolean connect to attach spheres to the big sphere and thus creating the "arms".

However i just cant get it smooth. If i take 2 spheres and use boolean connect it works fine, as long as i connect the polar region to the polar region, but that doesnt give me more than 2 good arms, and then i run into problems making the rest of the arms.. and i want quite alot of arms on there hehe.. like the concept art.

anyways if anybody has any good idead of how a newbie like me can model this quite simple model...

Poco
03-17-2003, 11:01 PM
Hey Swoop, this is how I would do it.

First, create a simple sphere with enough segments (32 in my example) and convert it to Editable Poly.

Then select some random polygons (see pic01), click extrude a few times until you get something like in the picture. (See pic02)

Then slap a meshmooth (2 iterations) on top of this and u have somthing similar as what you want. (see pic03)

Hopes this helps,

Poco

PS: dont export the mesh with meshsmooth to Maya (thats to keep the density of the mesh low, you or somebody else can then in Maya make a "subdiv surface" out of it)

Pic01 (http://www.art-at-large.be/tut/Pic01.jpg)
Pic02 (http://www.art-at-large.be/tut/Pic02.jpg)
Pic03 (http://www.art-at-large.be/tut/Pic03.jpg)

Swoop
03-18-2003, 07:11 AM
Actually i found that out to be working last night .. hehe.. thx anyways...

Hoewever thx on the tip of not exporting with meshsmooth ...