PDA

View Full Version : creating realistic animated fire ?

seb4d
03-15-2003, 10:08 AM
Hi everyone !
For my school project I'm looking for a way to create a realistic forest fire.
We filmed a real forest and I wonder now how we can achieve realistic looking fire.

The programs we have are Maya, 3DSMax, After Effects, Photoshop and Digital Fusion.
Can someone tell me what I can do with that ?

Thanks.

Tommi
03-15-2003, 11:30 AM
First of all, I'm no expert and haven't done something like that, yet, but I can imagine, that this task depends on what kind of video footages you have. Are these shots done within the forest or above/from distance? Closeups on trees might lead to troubles, because these trees don't look burnt and it would look odd if you just put a fire layer above a healthy tree. Maybe some distance shots with some image manipulations (darken the trees to make look them burnt) could lead to the right direction.
For the realistic fire you could use stock footages of real fire or maybe make your own shots of fire, key it out and so on....

seb4d
03-15-2003, 06:12 PM
ok, I've made some tests with Digital Fusion.
Here is a short example, tell me what you think of it.
http://membres.lycos.fr/seb4d/feu_test.avi

Tommi
03-15-2003, 06:53 PM
That looks great so far!
But honestly not so realistic due to two reasons which currently come to my mind. First of all, the fire does not interact with the surroundings. I know, that must be something hard to gain and honestly I have no clue, but by the fire itself, the ground and also the background should flicker in the color tone of the fire. You could add some CG trees and also some CG leaves which are glowing and are black.
Second of all, the fire is too orange. It need to be more yellowish-brownish. I like the smoke. Maybe you could add more smoke, mix the fire with it. Burning plants and wood cause a lot of smoke and damp due to the water that evaporates.
Just a few ideas :shrug:

seb4d
03-15-2003, 07:12 PM