PDA

View Full Version : Mental Ray Problem....?


FlexGiddy
03-15-2003, 04:51 AM
Has anyone installed Mental Ray 1.5.1 on Maya 4.5 and had any problems with the plug-in? I did, and at first I had no problems with Maya at all....but slowly the normal Render Globals took longer and longer to open....and now it finally won't open at all. I get an error saying that there's something wrong with the name. When I get back to my computer I'll post the exact error message. I was just wondering if anyone else has had this problem and how they fixed it....if they did.

Flex

FlexGiddy
03-15-2003, 05:36 AM
ok the exact error message is
Error: File name prefix contains invalid character(s).


That's the error I get when I try to open my normal Render Globals.

Flex

Maya Ayanami
03-17-2003, 07:08 PM
for maya's default renderer

FlexGiddy
03-17-2003, 08:54 PM
Yes the error message was for the default render.

Flex

FlexGiddy
03-19-2003, 06:59 PM
Has anyone else had this problem or is it just me...?

Flex

Maya Ayanami
03-19-2003, 08:31 PM
Did you try reinstalling Maya?
and do mental ray to. I think mental kinda screws up when you install it in any other dir than the default.

FlexGiddy
03-20-2003, 12:58 AM
Yeah I've done that and I still get the same error.... Everything is installed at default.....I don't get it..

Flex

Maya Ayanami
03-21-2003, 06:21 PM
maybe there are some confilcts with some other programs or your OS. what os are u using. maybe you sould just reformatt your hard drive. It is good to do this every once in a while. it helps to get rid of unwanted junk that u have forgotten about too. and you might have some weird freaky virus.

FlexGiddy
03-21-2003, 09:44 PM
No there's no conflict with any other programs cause when I uninstall mental ray my default render globals still won't open. I don't have any viruses or anything like that cause I'm rather anal retentive about stuff like that....I always check.....:rolleyes:

Flex

Maya Ayanami
03-24-2003, 11:04 PM
Did you say that you reinstall maya.
and did you try unintalling it absolutly compleatly. Try even deleting the registry and deleting the extra files left over. in the program files folder. and even delete the maya folder in side of my documens(well your documents anyway).

Maya Ayanami
03-24-2003, 11:05 PM
and try uninstalling them both and just reinstalling Maya and see what happens. if you get the same error. if you do then maybe you have to ring up A|W and ask them what the hell is going on.

FlexGiddy
04-07-2003, 05:33 PM
I've done a total un-install and I've reformatted my computer and I still get the same error.....though my default render globals hasn't vanished yet.....

Flex

Nando3D
04-08-2003, 02:04 PM
SOLUTION
Go to the Aliaswavefront Web Site and download the latest update version of Mental Ray 1.5.1...
good luck

Nando

FlexGiddy
04-15-2003, 05:27 PM
All right I'll give that a try......Here's wishing for the best....

Flex

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 04:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.