PDA

View Full Version : Realistic (at least acceptable) Materials in Maya

myself44
05-16-2007, 09:57 PM
Hi, I'm a 6 months beginner in Maya.
So far, learning modeling ... was ok. Texturing ... not bad but need practise, Lighting ... a real pain. Rendering ... I got owned. But all those thing, I can do pretty good now.

Only one thing : Materials.

Im my scenes (let's say interior ones), I want to apply realistic (to a minimum) materials. I want sofa to look like leather. I want chair to look like wood. I want lamp to look like metal.
I've seen a lot of tutorials, read a lot of book, but all of them keep saying stuff like : blinn is good for metal , phong is nice for chrome, etc.
BUt... HOW ? What settings to tweak ?

Example, I tried quickly to create different look for 4 cubes : (in order left to right, up to down)
- plastic - wood -
- leather - metal -

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a350/myself-44/mat.jpg

Have a good laugh, then, could someone help me how to acheive realistic materials? I just dont know how to make real metal, real plastic, real leather, etc. Whatever material I apply and tweak (blinn, lambert, etc.) it always look pretty much the same.

Guidelines, advices, anything!
The best gift would be a scene with some cubes already some reailstic materials applied :)

thx in advance

btw, I use Maya 7, or 8 or 8.5 wont work for me. sry

PS: why when I try to batch render a file in PNG, there's an error in the file and no viwer can open it. The only format I can use now is Tiff and Jpeg... wierd

hakanpersson
05-16-2007, 11:16 PM
I dont think you can simulate those material with just shaders. Blinn should be fairly easy to tweak without a tutorial. And if you want it more complicated you should go for mental ray or similiar (sure theres handbooks for those). Otherwise id try texturingtutorials. Check 3dtotal.com, there should be plenty tutorials for texturing and shaders.

victor
05-17-2007, 04:24 AM