PDA

View Full Version : Advice on finding clients for 3D work

narph
05-16-2007, 08:58 PM
I'm in a wierd spot. everyone who sees my work tells me, URGES me, to get work doing 3D for pay.

I have been a 2D designer/illustrator for about 15 years, and have done 3D for myself, but have picked up a few bucks here and there. most of my "book" is personal work. I do what I want to do, and my goal is my artistic vision.

now that I've decided to put actual effort in trying to get clients for 3D work, I'm a bit stumped as to who might want it!

Lots of my collegues or clients will say "It's great. but I'm not sure how we would use it..."
which is a wierd idea for me, bcs I can think of all kinds of uses for 3D imagery and animation, but I'm not sure who to target as a prospect.

Anyone have suggestions as to areas or types of clients to pursue? My first volley of sending out samples and query letters was to ad agencies in the area, but they tend, like I said, to be the "Nice but we don't need it" crowd.

thanks for any pointers or ideas.

One thing I have in my favor: an enormous capacity for self-marketing and cold-calling.

narph

xtrm3d
05-16-2007, 09:54 PM
any link to a web page to see some sampl,e of your work ? that might help people to give you advice :wise::)

narph
05-16-2007, 10:18 PM
d'oh!

here it is: www.coffeeonmars.com

thanks! guess I spaced that aspect right out!

n

wonderpup
05-17-2007, 06:27 PM
I'm in a similar position right now. One thing I have noticed is that 3D does have the ability to get people excited, especialy those who don't see a lot of it or deal with it every day.