PDA

View Full Version : problem with shadow


kaas
03-14-2003, 03:40 PM
hi,

i render my image with one light a directionlight under a corner of 30 degrees.

its very strange to see that he puts shadown on my object not behind.

picture 1 is rendered without shadows
picture 2 is rendered with shadows
picture 3 is rendered with shadows and with a 'ground'

i give the shadow a red color to see it better on the pictures

please help , i look everywere on internet for this problem.

http://www.corknet.nl/Image1.jpg

Jozvex
03-14-2003, 08:57 PM
What sort of shadows are you using? Raytraced or Depth Map?

Are you using the standard Maya renderer or Mental Ray?

Make sure that all your objects have their 'cast shadows' and 'recieve shadows' buttons ticked in the attribute editor.

And if that floor's shader has any incandescence or ambience it can greatly weaken any shadows on it.

kaas
03-15-2003, 12:56 AM
i use depthmap shadowing.

i render with the standard renderer

tommorow i check for the cast and recieve shadows , i am now on a other computer without maya.

thanks

jeremybirn
03-15-2003, 01:59 AM
Your dmap bias is too low. You must be building your scene on a very large scale, and need to scale up the bias to compensate.

Your shadowmap is also not very well focused. You might consider switching to a spot light so you can aim the beam to only cover the area really needed in your render.

-jeremy

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 02:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.