PDA

View Full Version : High Quality PSU's

GregHess
03-14-2003, 01:09 PM
Hey Guys,

I just had another psu blow up at work. (Older machine, enlight 300 watt). If for some reason any of you are running generic, or cheap powersupply's (you'll know this to be true if you didn't expend any money on a psu when buying your machine), you might want to consider replacing it before something bad happens.

I've had four go in the past 3 months. (I'm an admin). One gateway, one dell, one 3rd party, and one enlight. In the later case (the enlight) the psu actually EXPLODED internally. Upon opening the unit there was black char visible on a variety of componets, and one of the resistors had actually embedded itself into the top of the psu. Other misc components were loose and extremely charred.

Just wanted to drop a line, cause I know many people (like the owners of these machines) don't consider the power supply to be a vital part of their machine. Well here's a reminder. No power, no computer.

(Examples of good supplies. Antec Truepower, Sparkle, Enermax...)

WU2
03-15-2003, 05:47 AM
damn thats really scary... I have a crappy generic 300 W PSU, and I always think about something like that happening. I took out my sound blaster audigy because it was making some weird clicking sounds (as if maybe it wasn't getting enough juice) after putting in a second video card. So now i'm using my on-board sound and hoping something doesn't fry. I better get one soon, thanks for the tip.

Sieb
03-15-2003, 07:05 AM
True that. There's no excuse to go shoddy on the most important component in the case when its bringing in 300-500watts of AC juice and regulating it to DC.. Stick to the name brands cause dying PSUs can affect everything in your case. Bad spikes can fry everything. I had two die last year and one die last week on an HP Refurb I was getting ready to sell off.

DeathCarrot
03-15-2003, 10:32 PM