PDA

View Full Version : Animators opinions on rigs?

sleeprequired
05-10-2007, 05:26 PM
Hello everyone, this is my first post here. I'm a student and I'm looking at different types of rigs for a project - specifically squash and stretch rigs but I'm interested in your opinions on any kind of rig.

Are there any animators here who could give me any feedback on the rigs that you've liked using - what have you found works best in terms of usability and accuracy?

I'm not asking for any kind of rigging tutorial, or a massive essay, just maybe a few things that you like/dislike about some aspects of rigs and maybe your preferences when you animate, it would be a huge help.

Also I hear squash and stretch rigs aren't that popular, can anyone give me any reasons for that? I'm a bit gutted as that's what I'm looking in more detail at...

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

OneSharpMarble
05-10-2007, 07:58 PM
One thing I always find annoying is when a rig has an individual control for every knuckle on a finger. I would much rather have one thing to select for the four fingers and then select the attributes for the fingers and right mouse button slide to adjust them. Trying to select 12 little controls without hitting every other one is a pain. Also in the channel box if the bend attributes for a single finger were listed one after another it would make selection and posing quicker...
eg. NOT THIS WAY-> Bend_index_1, Bend_middle_1, Bend_Ring_1......
THIS WAY-> Bend_index_1, Bend_index_2, Bend_index_3.....

This way I can set each fingers bend and I still can set the whole groups hand all with out picking out which one I want.

Also a heel raise attribute is always desired, you know when you raise your heel and the toes/ball of your foot stays planted? I have found rigs without this attribute and walk cycles suddenly become more time consuming.

lifire
05-15-2007, 07:34 PM