PDA

View Full Version : command line renders slower than when Maya is open


Swordsman
04-30-2007, 11:07 PM
Is it normal for a render from the command line to take longer than a render that's been initiated from inside the Maya GUI? I'm using 8.5 and rendering over a network. The time difference is about 9 minutes as opposed to 13 minutes from the command line.

techmage
05-01-2007, 12:26 AM
When you render from command line, it has to open your file, load it into memory and then render. When you click render from within maya, the file is already open, a portion of it may already be loaded into memory, all it has to do is just start rendering most of the time. That is probably why commandline is adding more time for you, 2 minutes is a typical open, load, translate time for a mildly complex scene. But it only has to open, load, translate once per command line job issue, so it only has to do it on the first frame. All subsequent frames will already have everything they needed completely cached and loaded into memory and will render faster.

Swordsman
05-01-2007, 02:44 AM
Thank you very much rgoody! I didn't realize it was calculating the load time of the scene file and all that before. It all makes sense now :buttrock:.

CGTalk Moderation
05-01-2007, 02:44 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.