PDA

View Full Version : Displacement quality


Spin99
04-30-2007, 07:10 PM
Hi there,

I've been playing with the Max demo, what an amazing toolset.
Any case I can't seem to get any decent results with displacement at this stage.
I've tried Rendering normal maps to texture, and the results seem preety good,
for normal maps :)

Thing is I need displacement and don't seem to be getting anywhere.
Best results so far was with the displace modifier, but I don't get much resolution :(
Not much detail either, no success with any results yet.

So just wanted to ask if anybody has a workflow for getting the most out of Max displacement?
I have a low res and a hi-res mesh that I sculpted. I can already get a normal map out,
just not sure about using a bump map for displacement?

Haeberle
04-30-2007, 08:46 PM
-if you try it with scanline renderer apply a turbosmooth-modifier with some iterations before you apply the displacement-mod to get a higher subdivision

-try mental ray instead of scanline renderer
http://www.neilblevins.com/cg_education/mudbox_max/mudbox_max.htm

Spin99
04-30-2007, 09:39 PM
Thanks a lot Haeberle :)

Yes I'm getting better results already, using 16-bit EXR as well.
Only need a little better and I can get on with colour maps.
I'll be reading that tut soon.

Cheers.

Spin99
05-01-2007, 12:01 PM
http://img294.imageshack.us/img294/3364/testdisplacebi4.jpg

Here's my latest results.
I'm now getting a funny "ripple" texture all over the model, but it seems most of
the details are there. Any clues?

PS There seems to be a "sweet spot" for texture baking maybe (?)
I wonder if the ripples come from bad UV mapping?

Spin99
05-06-2007, 11:54 AM
http://img177.imageshack.us/img177/6089/maxmapsln2.jpg

And here's my very latest results.

I pelt mapped him it was so green and distortion free,
baked a 16-bit EXR HEIGHT map with the scanline renderer and
slapped a Displacement modifier on the low-res base.

I used a level 0 base with a Turbosmooth going up 2 levels.
And I'm not happy with the results.
I want the same quality on both map and hi-res mesh :(

I'll start trying higher lvl base meshes,
so far had no luck using a lvl 3 base with the hi-res mesh I sculpted in Silo 2.

Any advice on how to improve quality much appreciated :)

PS Maybe displacement strength is a bit high but it makes no difference detail wise

Spin99
05-06-2007, 05:30 PM
http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l229/WebScriptz_2006/test_last.jpg

This time I managed to get all the detail in (at last!) :)
Slight problem is I keep getting what looks like "mesh noise" or something.
So no one is going the help me figure this one out looks like?

Cheers.

metamesh
05-06-2007, 08:58 PM
yep, load the displace map into a slot in the material editor, and then set the value of the blur to 0,01 ( by defaultis 1 ) then add that map to the displace slot and the ripples will disapear...good luck :)


also you could check Vray renderer, is just great and it has one of the bests displacements you can find for max...

Spin99
05-06-2007, 09:40 PM
http://img19.imageshack.us/img19/8778/dispmapfirstdd7.jpg

Success at last :D I definitely owe you one, thanks so much :D

I've highlighted the areas that lost the most detail, looks like it's where there was most added height.
My newbness shows here as well I guess, but I'm really happy with results now
and moving on to colour soon.

I'd say Max's default scanline renderer with Hammersley and 16-bit colour doing a great job.
Finally taking my first brushes work on Silo 2 towards something that
might even look presentable sometime :buttrock::buttrock::buttrock:

CGTalk Moderation
05-06-2007, 09:40 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.