PDA

View Full Version : DV Export


danbran
03-12-2003, 11:36 PM
Is exporting as DV as good as exporting as a targa sequence, or is there any loss in compression with DV?

jussing
03-13-2003, 04:59 PM
Hi!

Well, as a recent thread discussed, you will have some loss with DV.

So no, it's not as good as a targa sequence.

But what kind of footage are we talking about here? If you've got large areas of the same color (like cel animation, or a seperate CG element rendered on a background color), then I'll recommend rendering it as Quicktime Animation, with 100% or "best" quality. That'll give you some compression, but with no loss of quality.

Cheers,
- Jonas

beaker
03-13-2003, 06:02 PM
Only export to dv as your last step if your outputting to a dv tape. Always stick with lossless material while your still changing stuff.

dg
03-15-2003, 06:30 AM
Hi,

DV have some losses in quality like beaker said only export to DV if your final output is DV, for anything else just keep to uncompressed formats, specially when working with chroma stuff.


See Ya!:beer:

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 03:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.