PDA

View Full Version : how was the first program made without SDK,can i write an app with machine language ?

hus2005
04-30-2007, 12:23 AM
i am new to programming.

I know that u need an SDK to write a program in c++.

i heard about programming with machine language.

but i am confused ,how could i write an app with machine language ??

and how did The programmers make the SDK,like Directx sdk or Win sdk ????

salmonmoose
04-30-2007, 08:52 AM
You don't actually need an SDK to make software in c++ you just need a c++ compiler.

SDKs like MFC, and Direct X are merely bunches of code that has already been written for you. Mostly this stops you from having to do the hard stuff yourself, and provides a uniform way to do things.

Interestingly you can write a compiler in just about any language (naturally some more suited than others), so current c++ compilers are likely mostly actually written in c, however the very first compilers would have been written in native machine code.

That's a pretty simplistic answer :)

hus2005
04-30-2007, 10:47 AM
can somebody give me an idea how could i write
an app or a compiler in native machine code???

and how could i write an operating System in c++ ?

mummey
04-30-2007, 01:46 PM
http://www.google.com/search?q=x86%20assembly%20language

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=off&q=principles+of+operating+systems

There's much more you need to worry about than the language an OS is written in.

el_diablo
04-30-2007, 07:13 PM
I was interested in os programming for years. The simplest way to dip your toes in was the os kit package http://www.cs.utah.edu/flux/oskit/

however it seems its not activly maintained anymore.

www.osnews.com is another fine resource. Also you could analise linux source.

and how could i write an operating System in c++ ?

Line by line I guess. It could take a few years though.

UrbanFuturistic
04-30-2007, 08:19 PM