PDA

View Full Version : Normal is losing resolution in certain sections? please help


Carter88
04-30-2007, 12:56 AM
Hello,

Im currently trying to bake out a normal from mudbox for use on a lowpoly model - these are my settings:
http://img256.imageshack.us/img256/9176/mudsettingsol8.jpg
And this is the normal it dumps out:
http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/5072/mudnormtj3.jpg
As you can see the normal has lost resolution in a number of the branches, even though i have mapped the original model with near enough perfect mapping coordinates.
Is there a quick solutuon to this as when applied to the low poly model parts of it particuarly the branches have dark patches where im assuming the normal is too deep

Thanks for your help

http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/5716/mudviewportza5.jpg

Mindblighter
04-30-2007, 05:54 AM
You didn't include pictures that would give it definitely away, but I'm guessing your mapping coordinates have different scale from piece to piece. Again, I can't say for sure but it also looks some of them are made with Pelt mapping which often produces coords that are troublesome for Mudbox.
If I were you, I'd do some thorough checking with a Checker map or something similar and redo the mapping coordinates.

CGTalk Moderation
04-30-2007, 05:54 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.