PDA

View Full Version : Dual Cards


Silmar
03-12-2003, 11:12 AM
Hey all,

I am looking at adding a second screen to my setup and wonder if it would be possible to add another vid card. I currently have a nvidia GF43 ti500 in the agp slot.

If its possible to still use this card can I just buy another? I have no more AGP slots only pci.

Im running an AMD 1800XP proc with Windows XP Pro

Advice welcomed

alphatron
03-12-2003, 11:19 AM
You could pick up an ATI Radeon 7000 or 7500.. they are still available in PCI configurations and should be ok for a secondary display with OGL. They are also very inexpensive. I had a GF3 and a 7000 going for a while until I got a card capable of Dual head. It worked out fine.

Silmar
03-12-2003, 11:27 AM
If you could recommend a kick ass dual card please do. I do like to play games on occassion though :)

alphatron
03-12-2003, 11:30 AM
Well,

I've got the MSI GeForce4 4800SE .. uses the ti4400 chipset with the AGP 8x interface. Bought it for roughly $215 USD. I've modded it to a softquadro4 750 XGL. All is good :)

PlanetMongo
03-12-2003, 01:11 PM
I just picked up an MSI Ti4200 128mbDDR dual-head yesterday. So far, it rocks pretty hard. I haven't figured out the settings quite yet, nView dual mode really bites hard (everything slows down and become really herky-jerky) but just having simple spanning of the desktop is wonders. And everquest never looked better. :)
Now if I could just find a decent DVD player (PowerDVD is teh suck).

alphatron
03-12-2003, 01:14 PM
Hey Mongo,

I use to have those slowdowns too. I disabled Nview and spanning and just use WinXPs built-in DualView. I don't notice any slowdowns now.

Silmar
03-13-2003, 01:57 AM
Couple more questions..soz Im a noob at this?

1. The cards I am looking at are MSI MX440 64Mb DVI-I, MSI TI4200 8X 128Mb DVI and the MSI TI4800SE 8x 128Mb DVI. Will the MX440 suffice? And will be be quicker/slower than my GF3 ti500 64Mb? Will the 4200 be much quicker?

2. My mobo is quite old a year plus, I suspect it is 4xagp (asus) one running an Athlon 1800XP, will these cards work on it?

3. I currently have a sony 21" monitor, can my second screen be any size whilst i save my pennies? And can I run each at different resolutions with one of these dualhead cards.

Thankye all

alphatron
03-13-2003, 02:55 AM
1. Skip on the MX440, It's slower than your GeForce 3 and barely faster than a GeForce 2.

The only difference between the 4200 8X and the 4800SE 8X is the chipset. The 4800 uses the ti4400 chipset, one mark up from the 4200. So it's up to you if the price/performance ratio is worth it for the 4800. Since you don't have a mobo capable of 8X AGP.. you might want to go with a cheaper 4x AGP GF4. 8X doesn't yet show a real performance increase anyways.

Like I said before, I've got the 4800SE and love it.

2. Yes your Mobo and CPU are fine.

3. Using DualView you can drive two monitors at different resolutions. Size of the monitor doesn't matter.

Hope this helps!

Silmar
03-13-2003, 03:03 AM
Your a legend for answering my questions..thankye very much. Is it easy to set the resolutions of each screen. Im guessing this software is a third party utility or something

dvornik
03-13-2003, 03:09 AM
I think if you buy a Geforce consider getting dual DVI. That way you can upgrade to dual LCD in the future.

http://www.asus.com/products/vga/v9280vs/overview.htm

In case you buy a DVI/VGA model make sure you get an adaptor, some vendors include it in the package.

I would recommend getting a Quadro4 XGL card though if it's within your budget ($350).

Silmar
03-13-2003, 03:18 AM
Your a legend for answering my questions..thankye very much. Is it easy to set the resolutions of each screen. Im guessing this software is a third party utility or something

dvornik
03-13-2003, 03:23 AM
Dualview is one of two built-in monitor management modes in Nvidia's drivers. (There's also Span mode).

For a detailed description there's a long manual, look at page 27:
http://download.nvidia.com/windows/40.72/nView_20_Users_Guide.pdf

Silmar
03-13-2003, 06:43 AM
Thankyou very much! the SE is calling me, now to convice the wife! :)

Silmar
03-20-2003, 11:54 PM
Originally posted by alphatron
Well,

I've got the MSI GeForce4 4800SE .. uses the ti4400 chipset with the AGP 8x interface. Bought it for roughly $215 USD. I've modded it to a softquadro4 750 XGL. All is good :)

You mention modding this card to a softquatro, mind if I ask how you do this and what benefits it brings?

Thanks

GregHess
03-21-2003, 12:16 AM
alphatron,

Quick note...

If you use an ati card as a secondary pci accelerator, combined with an nvidia primary accelerator card, you'll get no 3d acceleration on the second screen. You'll need two cards with a similar driver set for that to work correctly. Of course you might not need acceleration on the second screen, but I'd still avoid mixing ati and nvidia if possible.

Sounds like dropping two lions in the same den.

Silmar
03-21-2003, 12:50 AM
I am considering purchasing this card 'Leadtek WinFast A280 TD My VIVO, GF4 Ti4800SE AGP8X(v3.0)', anyone know if it is as good as the MSI 4800SE?

alphatron
03-21-2003, 01:15 AM
Hey Greg,

It worked for me for the limited time I was using it, with OGL in both monitors :shrug:

CgFX
03-21-2003, 01:38 AM
Originally posted by alphatron
Hey Greg,

It worked for me for the limited time I was using it, with OGL in both monitors :shrug:

It will work but you have to start the application on the monitor you use it on. You can't move it onto the other monitor (card).

You also can't have the application have even one pixel on both monitors at the same time or it breaks it as well and you click into SW only mode (ugh).

Silmar
03-21-2003, 02:53 AM
Well I just bought the 'Leadtek WinFast A280 TD My VIVO, GF4 Ti4800SE AGP8X(v3.0), sure hope it works

Silmar
03-21-2003, 08:14 AM
K installed the card...looks great but it crashes the whole box when loading any games..any clues?

GregHess
03-21-2003, 11:57 AM
Did you uninstall the old card, uninstall all the old drivers...BEFORE installing the new card?

(Aka using add/remove hardware to remove the card, and add/remove software to remove the old drivers)

If you haven't. Do that now, and possibly run a regcleaner to get rid of extra registry entires. (Yes I understand if the card is already in there, you don't have to physically remove it, just follow the add/remove instructions in windows)

Then download the latest nvidia drivers...

www.nvidia.com

and don't double click on the file. Instead use a utility like winzip to extract the archive to a directory.

When you reboot the computer, the hardware wizard will come up. Point it to the directory that you just extracted the latest drivers too.

When u reboot again, it should work.

Also make sure the AGP card is FIRMLY seated in the slot. If one of the leads is even .1 mm off, you can get 2d, but not 3d. I've actually seen cases when people have gotten horrid 3dmark scores, and it turned out the AGP card was loose. Crazy.

Silmar
03-21-2003, 08:24 PM
thx Greg, tried all that. Went through the registry cleaned all references to nvidia, went to vga mode, used a utility to delete any nvidia files. Downloaded new drivers, installedm upgraded VIA chipset drivers. Even went into the BIOS to check AGP settings.

Horrible feeling this motherboard will not work with it, its an ASUS AV7266-E

Thanks for those suggestions though

Silmar
03-22-2003, 07:31 AM
I put my old GF3 ti500 back in and no crashes at all. Does anyone thing it is the card or the combination of the card and the motherboard?

Chewey
03-22-2003, 01:02 PM
Is the card you purchased used or off of Ebay?

Silmar
03-22-2003, 08:43 PM
brand new....Spoke to the guy in the shop and he said refund policy is minus 15% can you believe that!

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 03:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.