PDA

View Full Version : Inspired 3d Character Setup Question?

dharmabum
03-12-2003, 02:23 AM
Hey there, I need some help. I've been trying to teach myself rigging and bought the Inspired 3d Character Setup book but have run into a few problems. I'm on page 220 where I'm learning to rig an IK spine and can't figure out what to do next. I've done everything up until I have to enter the expression for "spineTwistEXP". My questions are what are "float variables", and where do I enter the actual expression? I know about the expression editor but the book does not say what I should be selecting (what object) to create the expression for. Please help me. I'm a newbie and confused. Thanks.

chepe297
03-12-2003, 02:50 AM
Hi dharmabum

Sorry that I am not answering your question, but I am wonder how good is the book? I am using 3ds max 4 and know a little bit of MAYA 4. I was thinking about buying that book a while ago, but unfortunately it's quite dear.

Therefore can you tell me a bit about the book. Since you are a newbie, I am just wondering how comprehensible is that book from your point of view? Do you think it's worth it? :scream:

Thanks dharmabum.

dharmabum
03-12-2003, 03:15 AM
I think it's pretty good. I've learned quite a bit. The price is pretty high but I think it's worth it.

ACFred
03-12-2003, 10:20 AM
I took a look at the book. You will have to enter the expressions in the Expression Editor.
You don't have to have an object to create an expression, so don't worry about that part. For the spine twist, you'll have the hips & chest drive the spine joints (the ones with JNT, not RIG).

So just open up the expression editor, give the expression a name, and type in the feathering expression they have in the book and you should be good to go.