PDA

View Full Version : Im New: Compression and splitting clips

Tom N.
03-11-2003, 08:57 PM
Hey I've been using AE for a while now, but only to do really simple things like take my targa sequences from Maya and make them into .avi files.

My question is this: I see a lot of online demo reels at 320 by 240 and some at 640 by 480, and they all have excellent quality and are sometimes as long as 10 minutes, and yet the file size is so small! How can I make an avi or quicktime be good quality and yet keep it so small??

Second question: If I import a targa sequence, can I cut it in half? Like split my one sequence into two separate clips?

Like I said.. I'm new to most of the aspects of AE, any responses at all would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

-Tom N.

LarsSon
03-12-2003, 06:50 AM
There are several compression codecs able to do really hard compressions. Not included in with basic AE. Anyway, if you have been watching those tutorials, there is allways one similarity. There is very little movements on the video. So even if you are using like divx, you are getting very nice results. Keypoint is to have enough (stable) videofootage. Not much to compress.

Splitting clip is very easy. Go to edit ->split layer. It will split active layer at the current time. After that you have 2 seperate layers.

Helping?

Tom N.
03-12-2003, 06:51 PM
Hey thanks for the reply.. so you're saying that in order to get a good hard compression, I can't do it with the compressions that come with AE? I have AE 5.5, do I need to download or buy a plugin or something? And also I know what you mean about how online tutorials dont have much movement, but I meant other online videos like people animated shorts or demo reels that pretty much play in real time or what looks to be real time.

-Tom N.

LarsSon
03-12-2003, 07:17 PM