PDA

View Full Version : Newbie in need of directions :)

Eken
04-21-2007, 09:24 PM
First off,
A big Hello to this well established community!

I'm a bloke from the land of roaming polarbears a.k.a Sweden!
I'm a new beginner to the whole concept of digital-art, or well to 3D art atleast.
I've been working a whole bit with Photoshop before, and trying to learn by whatching tutorials reading and so on.

In one tutorial the author kept going on about his C4D pictures, I got curious as I never seen that kind of graphics before and eventully ended up with a copy of Cinema 4D on my computer, but only to find out it was alittle harder then I expected! :)

Never the less, I kept looking for tutorials and so on and only noticed there's alot of tutorials using alot of diffrent programs etc, most programs I can get a hold on as alot of other friends already use these programs! (Through them I first heard about this extremly nice community!)

Well this is about me and how I found this site!

My questions are...(I want to learn more about Animation and 3D modelling, but unsure where to start)

What software/hardware is suggested?
Any books/DVD's you suggest me buying for basic instructions?

Thank you and maybe some day I'll post my first Swedish Polarbear on here ;)

Eken
04-25-2007, 03:38 PM
Donno if its ok to bump but....
*bump*

ErikSvensson
04-26-2007, 10:17 PM
Hey Eken.

If you want to learn modelling, texturing, uvmapping or such, go to www.3dtutorials.sk, www.3dtotal.com or some other great site with tutorials. I'd think there is a sticky in every cathegory for tutorials (under modelling, animation and so on at cgtalk).

For animation, learn the principles. Buy "the animators survival kit" by richard williams, or "illusion of life". Then go to www.keithlango.com or www.comet-cartoons.com and read more.