PDA

View Full Version : 10.4.9 warning

osxrules
04-20-2007, 02:36 PM
If you are running Shake on a machine with integrated graphics, the 10.4.9 update seems to mess up the font display in text boxes and menus. Text displays larger and in italics. Also, selecting text causes striped lines to appear instead of the usual selection. Shake is still usable but it is annoying. I assume it's limited to machines with integrated graphics because I've seen reports of 10.4.9 causing no problems on machines with dedicated chips (if so, thanks again Apple for plaguing us with these - we seem to be having a lot of the issues you ridiculed PC users for all those years ago :thumbsup: ).

jhaydock
05-31-2007, 07:15 PM
Has anyone found a solution to this? I am having this problem now that I have updated my mini mac. I'm running a mini mac as i'm still learning shake and can't afford a mac book pro etc. Is there any way to roll back the update if there isn't a fix yet?

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks

Jamie.

osxrules
06-01-2007, 04:43 PM
You can roll back updates by doing archive and installs. Basically it means running the installer disc, choosing archive/install, which replaces only the system folder and some other system stuff but it leaves your other data alone. Then you use a combo installer to get to 10.4.8.

If the problem was specifically the GMA driver update, you could perhaps just replace those drivers (in the kernel extension folder /System/Library/extensions) from an older version of the OS. I wouldn't recommend this without a bootable external drive though in case you need to recover your machine.

Here's a link to the GMA950 drivers for 10.4.8:

http://www.sharebigfile.com/file/180347/GMA950-10-4-8-zip.html