PDA

View Full Version : New to CG - Just bought Intro to Char. Anime w blender

Bardalgol
04-19-2007, 01:34 AM
Hello, as my subject says I'm new to CG Talk as well as CG art. I've been looking at all the art here on these forums and it's all just awesome!

Today I bought a book called Introduction to Character Animation with Blender. It came with Blender 2.42 and a suite of other software. But the book doesn't say what the system requirements are! I have an old PC which will be replaced with a whole new custom build (Quad Core, 8GB ram, GTX8800 video card, XP Pro 64 bit) in 2-3 weeks but I was curious if I'd be able to put the software in on this old PC or have to just read the book until my new system arrives? I have no video card and just 112 MB of RAM - I told ya it's old!

I will be getting the Painter X + 9 x 12 wacom Intuos tablet package deal from Corel's site will the tablet work with blender as well?

I love what I see about the new Vue6 Infinity landscape and atmopshere software - can animated characters and objects from Blender be used in Vue6?

Thanks for any info you might have for me!

thondal
04-19-2007, 09:36 AM
Well. here are the system requirements (blender.org)

Operating Systems

Windows 98, ME, 2000, XP or Vista
Mac OS X 10.2 and later
Linux 2.2.5 i386
Linux 2.3.2 PPC
FreeBSD 6.2 i386
Irix 6.5 mips3
Solaris 2.8 sparc
Minimal specs for Hardware

300 MHz CPU
128 MB Ram
20 MB free hard disk Space
1024 x 768 px Display with 16 bit color
3 Button Mouse
Open GL Graphics Card (http://www.blender.org/tutorials-help/graphics-cards/) with 16 MB Ram
Optimal specs for Hardware

2 Ghz dual CPU
2 GB Ram
1920 x 1200 px Display with 24 bit color
3 Button Mouse
Open GL Graphics Card (http://www.blender.org/tutorials-help/graphics-cards/) with 128 or 256 MB Ram

So.... and without a graphic card it would be rather impossible. Hope you get your new machine soon. I also bought that book, going to be using it in the next few weeks.

-thondal-

fktt