PDA

View Full Version : Ncloth to maya 7?


meshman
04-16-2007, 09:03 PM
Is there a way to bake the Ncloth and import it into maya 7? The reason i cant use maya 8.5 is that my project is setup using Renderman Rat, and Rat 7 that support the new 8.5 features has not ben released yet , nor the studio pro version of renderman so im stuck with maya 7 as for now. But I would like to use a cloth simulated in maya 8.5. Is it doable? some sort of bake?

Regards
Peter A

mandark1011
04-16-2007, 09:29 PM
Try saving your baked geometry with a deleted ncloth node as a maya ascii file type, then open it in wordpad and delete the maya 8.5 info at the top. Works on other things ive tried and if it is just baked geomtrey it should work.

meshman
04-20-2007, 10:16 PM
yes it worked i used the bake cloth scrip.

Als
04-22-2007, 06:00 PM
I don't know if you tried this script?

http://www.daniel3d.com/pepe-school-land/misc/videotut/bake_maya/bake_maya.html

Anyway the problem comes when you start tearing cloth apart, because blend shapes will not like that...


Als

chakalele
05-18-2007, 12:47 AM
Hi.
I´m working with RealFLow SD tranlator, both pluggins maya 7 and maya 8.5, but you need realflow.

Import Cloth as SD, read it on realflow and simulate, this export a new SD file from RealFLow, and then import this file to maya 7. If you import SD file created in maya 8.5 directly to maya 7 it doesn´t work.
cheers.

CGTalk Moderation
05-18-2007, 12:47 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.