PDA

View Full Version : PLZ help a complete newb annimate a broken window.

C0-182
04-15-2007, 02:13 AM
Hi, hope this is the right forum...my first post.:)

Anyway I'm almost a complete newb but for simplicity sake just assume that I am.
Basicall all I want to do in MAX9 is annimate a ball that with go through a window and as a consequence the window shatters. Now...I can annimate the ball just fine but I need help figureing out how I'm going to make a window shatter (I know reactor will be involved some how) and then I need help texturing the window to look like real glass. PLEASE:D help I'm somewhat in ernest...

Big thank you to anyone who can help...or just say hi to me cus I'm new:shrug:

AnimG
04-25-2007, 01:10 PM
Hi.

To get started, search standard help for "Fracture"

Anim

mackdadd
04-25-2007, 08:59 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFYBWbXGveE

that is what you want i think.
As for the glass texture, in the material editor, load up some of the other material libraries that ships with max, the 2 raytrace ones. Or search around on these forums. There's some sticky'd threads with free material libraries.

C0-182
04-26-2007, 03:43 AM
Oh yes,
I've seen that video...basicaly lets just say when he imports that adobe .ai model into max...I don't get the same thing. I have adobe illistrator (that's what he uses...right?) but my version of max (9 sp1) just won't improt adobe .ai files. no clue why. oh and I had trouble following the photoshop part.

Jiak
04-26-2007, 03:55 PM
If you are having trouble importing the .ai files, try exporting them out of Illustrator instead of just saving them. Choose the Illustrator legacy option and go back a few versions and see if that helps.

C0-182
04-26-2007, 06:00 PM
huh...i cant seem to find the legacy option. I have illistrator CS2, where is it in there...is it a seperate plugin? i looked at my export options and i didn't see anything that said legacy.

andyburm
04-27-2007, 05:20 AM