PDA

View Full Version : IMage Size

powerwave3d
03-09-2003, 10:48 PM
I'm new to the 2D side of digital art and I want to create an image that will eventually be printed 24inches x 36 inches. My question is when I make my file do I make it 24 inches x 36 inches inside Photoshop (or any other 2D app for that matter) and then start the image? With it that big, I'm thinking that it will be hard to navigate it while drawing since my screen is only 18.1". Or is the standard to create something of a more managable size and just make the DPI resolution really high so I can then increase the size of the image when it goes to print? If the answer is the resolution, what is an acceptable resolution. The end product will be something that will be framed and put on a wall.

Thanks.

jah
03-10-2003, 02:37 AM
well...

bad news... u got to start the image with the correct size u want to print it... if u try to start with a smaller size and increase the size at the end u'll get a low quality picture...

and resolutions for printing vary with the printer itself... home printer i would recommend 180 dpi up to 300 dpi... if ur going to a print shop 300dpi up :)

hope it helps :shrug:

sorry 'bout my lame english btw :X

cheney
03-10-2003, 06:35 PM
Keep your print size (size in inches) fresh in your mind. Then create a new image based upon the print quality multiplied by the dimensions in inches. Standard photo print quality for large images is around 300dpi. So, consider the following:

300dpi x 24in and 300dpi x 36in = 7200x10800px.