PDA

View Full Version : Mudbox to Maya normal mapping setup


motionstorm
04-11-2007, 11:25 AM
Could someone please explane, in detail, how to setup your shader and scene for rendering with maya renderer utilizing normal maps generated with mudbox within maya. I find the process somewhat confusing and would prefere not to use anything but what maya has built in. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

MasonDoran
04-13-2007, 08:39 AM
Then obviously you are not reading the manual and are to lazy to use a search engine. If you are using software worth thousand of dollars, you should invest time in that regards.

How confusing is it to attach a normal map to a bump node and change it to Tangent Space?

CKPinson
04-13-2007, 09:10 AM
Then obviously you are not reading the manual and are to lazy to use a search engine. If you are using software worth thousand of dollars, you should invest time in that regards.

How confusing is it to attach a normal map to a bump node and change it to Tangent Space?
Kinda Rude m8

MasonDoran
04-13-2007, 09:51 AM
in much older versions of maya, normal map setups were indeed difficult and confusing. But for the last couple of years, Maya has used the bump node for normal maps.

I am deliberatly being rude, only for the sake of encouraging in depth and independant research of the tools we use. This forum has a tremendous amount knowledge available, but there needs to be an understanding that using a search engine and a manual is going to be far more effective in learning the tools, and learning how to learn the tools.

CGTalk Moderation
04-13-2007, 09:51 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.