PDA

View Full Version : The Art of Rigging (v. 1)

HelioAraujo
04-09-2007, 11:27 PM
Howdy, folks!
I'm studying the rigging methods from "The Art Of Rigging" (v. 1). I'm getting pretty happy with the results and would like to know if these teachings still hold for Maya 8 (the version I'm using at school).

Is there someone who read the book and still uses its rigging methods?

Regards,

kiaran
04-10-2007, 12:23 AM
All of the techniques I explained in The Art of Rigging are forward compatible with Maya 8.0 and 8.5.

HelioAraujo
04-10-2007, 01:09 PM
Hi Kiaran,

Thanks for the reply.

I'm building things from the exercises on top of the previous exercise, IkToFkSwitch on top of NoFlipKnee, and will build GroupBasedReverserFoot on top of the two. Is this the way to go?

Regards,

kiaran
04-10-2007, 05:11 PM
If you're doing this for the first time, I would recommend building each setup by themselves first. Try to understand how it all works, rather than just blindly following the steps. Once you understand each setup individually, putting them together into one system should be a breeze.

A no-flip knee, IK/FK switch and reverse foot can definitely co-exist on the same rig. IK/FK switches are completely agnostic of what they blend between; in fact you can use the same principle to blend between any two joint joints (not necessarily an IK and FK controlled chains). The no-flip knee works on any IK chain, and has no problem playing well with a reverse foot.

Good luck :)

crick2x9
04-15-2007, 03:04 AM