PDA

View Full Version : subD modeling question


sunnydyz
04-05-2007, 04:03 PM
hello,
i have a litle problem, and have no idea how to fix it. it's hard to explane so here are two images

http://alpha.zshare.net/thumb/1474732/thumb.gif (http://www.zshare.net/image/speaker-gif.html)http://alpha.zshare.net/thumb/1474834/thumb.gif (http://www.zshare.net/image/speaker_subd-gif.html)

how to make that subD don't destort bevel edge (selected). help please :)
p.s. i'm using cinema 4d

SamSed
04-05-2007, 04:38 PM
This might solve your problem (Add the red lines)

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i24/sam_cgs/speaker.jpg

sunnydyz
04-05-2007, 06:42 PM
thanks a lot man. that solved the broblem partially. top bevel narrows down and i dont need that. is there a way to model that circle hole, buy not affecting bevel size? i need all border to be same specific size.

vvmanoj
04-06-2007, 04:07 AM
Give this a shot

http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/9659/speaker2vo2.th.gif (http://img266.imageshack.us/my.php?image=speaker2vo2.gif)

Cheers,
Manoj

sunnydyz
04-06-2007, 08:44 AM
here are screenshots

http://xi.zshare.net/thumb/1481726/thumb.gif (http://www.zshare.net/image/speaker01-gif.html)http://xi.zshare.net/thumb/1481777/thumb.gif (http://www.zshare.net/image/speaker01_subd-gif.html)

i'll tried SamSed's & vvmanoj's methods but still that selected edge bends. i'm learning so any help is appreciated. maby you know some sites where subD modeling is explained from theoretical side ore some useful tutorials for helping understand how sudD works? don't hesitate post them :). and once again thanks ya all for helping!

sunnydyz
04-06-2007, 09:42 AM
yo. by combining those both methods result seems to be the best. but still added holizontal line narrows top bevel. i guess i need to model box shape without bevels but with those extra edges (selected) on all box sides. and only then make bevel specific size. but isn't there any other method of doing such things? cause now i need to recreate everything. i saw some tutorials where objects are disconected then some chamfer modifier on edges are used ... i'm not sure if this is what i need.

http://alpha.zshare.net/thumb/1482155/thumb.gif (http://www.zshare.net/image/speaker02-gif.html)http://alpha.zshare.net/thumb/1482159/thumb.gif (http://www.zshare.net/image/speaker02_subd-gif.html)

by the way what is chamfer in 3d max? cause i can not find it in cinema 4d and not sure what is alternative for it.

CGTalk Moderation
04-06-2007, 09:42 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.