PDA

View Full Version : alpha channels questions


gotboost
04-01-2002, 08:39 PM
can some let me know the steps on how to make a alpha channel work in xsi i have ai dea but for some reason it not workin. do i have to make 2 pics the color an the black an white image or can i us the the alpha from photoshop. in any event what would i ahve to do in xsi to be able to see trhough an object.

grendizer
04-01-2002, 09:59 PM
Select your object
Open the render tree
Hit "update"
Put in your image clip
Select an "image" node and connect your image clip to the "input" of your "image" node.
Select a node "channel picker" (or 'picker", I don't remember).
Plug the output of the image node in the "picker" node.
Plug the output of the picker in the "transparency" of the phong node.
Is that what you're after?

Grendi :scream:

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 03:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.