PDA

View Full Version : Maya or Max - Beginner looking to start.

NMXDesigns
04-01-2007, 10:18 PM
Hey all,

I'm brand new to 3d modeling, and have wanted to get into it for a long time, but have never got into it soley because i've never actually learnt how to use a program. But I really want to start, and just get on with it it. So I want to know which of the 2 I should go with, Maya or Max. Please don't reccomend any other software, as I know these 2 are probally the biggest, most respected and proffesional programs.

So which is best for the following purposes:

3D Stills - Realistic
3D Stills - Cartoony
3D Animation - Realistic
3D Animation - Cartoony
3D Gaming - Any

Which is easiest to learn? and is likely to be used later in life if someone were to pursue a career in Game developement, or animated film developement?

Thanks!

-NMX

p.s I know this sounds steep, and un thought-out, and in a sense it is but I just want to get on with it, and stop half-starting and then stopping. :thumbsup:

Leionaaad
04-02-2007, 09:22 AM
have you read this? (wich application should I use thread)http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=2&t=19315

What to use is fairly subjective so there is no real answer. Both can do everything you wrote.
And Maya and Max are not the 2 most respected and biggest softwares. They are just 2 of the softwares available.

NMXDesigns
04-02-2007, 10:52 AM
Okay then, i've sort of decided on which software i'm going to roll for.
Now a better question, how should I get started? In the long run I think i'm going to go for 3DsMax but for now i'm going to try and get the ball rolling with Maya PLE. Is there any tutorials or sites that teach you from the ground up? Explaining everything you have to do, assuming you don't know the process involved.

Thanks
-nMx

Arcanox
04-02-2007, 01:35 PM