PDA

View Full Version : What is best???


NESEL*
03-06-2003, 09:06 PM
Ok we have a big issue here @ the job.

Before, we had a Matrox Digisuite LE with SpeedRazor and C2.

Then we bought a Targa 3K with Premiere.

But we got ****ed, Premiere does not import any kind of EDLs.

So for advertising projects with ONLINE needs we HAD to go back to SpeedRazor for the EDL importing, but SPZ is very very bugged with a Targa3K... Dropouts, dropped frames, timecode offsets, etc.....

But, we now have the chance to change the system...AGAIN :D

We have 2 choices,

1) a FULL Digisuite with Speedrazor and C2.....Cool.
2) a DPS system including DigitalFusion.....look very good.

We want to get as close as possible to a FFI system, kinda Client oriented.
But without paying 1000000000000000$

We'll have the opportunity to test de DPS/DF system.


What do you think???
What do you use???


thanks


LESEN*aka*NESEL

Chris
03-06-2003, 09:19 PM
If you've already got Combustion & a PC to run it, with a framebuffer (the T3000), & if you can afford it, I'd get a Mac & run FCP3 with something like a Cinewave card. We use Final Cut on a Mac networked to a PC running Combustion & it works very well.

NESEL*
03-06-2003, 09:35 PM
The problem is that we are limited with the 2 systems i said earlier.

We already have a Dual Xeon 2.2g, 2g Rambus, 100g scsi 64bit
So i do not think that going with a fc3 station is possible.

tnk tho


LESEN*aka*NESEL

eudemonie
03-07-2003, 02:01 PM
Then we bought a Targa 3K with Premiere

with premiere ? hehe :) :) :)

beaker
03-07-2003, 07:40 PM
Have you looked at using Avid Xpress? It runs with the Targa 3000 and supports EDL. I strongly suggest it over your other choices. Avid Xpress also runs with the Digisuite. Also you get the avid name that many people that know nothing about computers know about and respect. Avid is like a buzz word. If you say something like Speed Razor or Digital Fusion they have no clue what your talking about. If you say something like Premiere they are like "Oh yea, I have a copy that on my pc/mac at home that my buddy gave me".
http://www.avid.com/products/xpress/

>>2) a DPS system including DigitalFusion.....look very good.

I don't suggest DPS. Their systems are really made as DDR/playback systems. It is almost a hacked to work with editing. If you just want something for dailies/mass digital output then its great, but for editing, bleh! Also Digital Fusion is not an editor. I have no idea why people try to use it as one.

NESEL*
03-07-2003, 08:26 PM
Thank you, i'll seriously check for Avid Express.


tnx again

eudemonie
03-09-2003, 08:32 PM
-

may i ask why you are not thinking about Incite 3.0 ?
the application is about 3500 EUR and works with digisuite, too

--
eu

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 03:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.