PDA

View Full Version : questions about Vue clouds...

sugg
03-26-2007, 03:45 AM
Hello all.... I have been looking at Vue to see how it works for clouds and skys. I'm interested in high atmosphere clouds, low puffy cumulus clouds, perhaps fog too. -And can multiple forms of these clouds be placed in the same scene?
I have spent some time in Lightwave. Can comparable results be achieved in this application using hypervoxels? I'd like to learn a sky/ landscape dedicated app if they really have efficient tools to help create the natural surroundings (esp. skys and clouds!)
Thanks

BernieStafford
03-28-2007, 10:36 PM
I have no experience or knowledge of Lightwave, but a quick look around the galleries at Renderosity & Cornucopia will show you some of the capabilities of the new Vue Spectral Atmosphere engine.

Here are two examples by myself:

http://www.renderosity.com/mod/gallery/index.php?image_id=1408680&member

http://www.renderosity.com/mod/gallery/index.php?image_id=1408680&member

In both images the sky & clouds are straight out of Vue 6 Infinite - post-pro only for colour adjustment.

Hope this answers your question!! :)

sugg
03-30-2007, 04:25 AM
Bernie - great sci fi images.... In your Renderosity galleries, you have an image called Minas Mor II - the description says you did this in Terragen. The high clouds in that image - did you do those in Terragen, and how would you compare the two apps, Terragen and Vue? Also, thanks for the two references for those sites...

BernieStafford
03-30-2007, 05:44 PM
The clouds in Minas Mor II are pure Terragen - that is TG 0.9, the free version, not the TGD Preview.

Comparing TG with Vue is a bit like comparing a VW Polo with an Aston Martin - there are similarities, but there are also huge differences!! :) I don't want to start a "mine is better than yours" flame here, but this is my personal take on it.