PDA

View Full Version : An easy way to transfer camera animation data between packages?


MadS
03-31-2002, 08:43 PM
I am looking to animate foreground elements in Maya, and composite that with background footge rendered in max. I will need to transfer the camera data easily between packages. Is there an easy way to do this? And what techniques yield the best results in your experience? Also, does anyone here know of a rock solid book/training tape that details the compositing/animation process in a production environment?

TIA!

Deepray
04-04-2002, 04:22 AM
if you have the original max file, you can use programs like 3dxploration to convert from max to maya. A hard solution (not recomendet) it's to use MayaLive to track the camera... but... really... it's tooo hard... :P (or, if the camera has a few keys, you can try to "clone" the XYZ values from maya to max... (and rotation, fov, etc.. ):shrug:

bentllama
04-29-2002, 09:26 AM
Polytrans should do the trick...

[but it is MAX to Maya...it does not swing both ways]

http://www.okino.com

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 03:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.