PDA

View Full Version : What does this mean?


Jassar
03-24-2007, 10:04 AM
When I want to bake my maps this error pops up:
Texture coordinates are not valid

And another thing, I've imported a mesh ( UV unwraped and ready for sculpting ) to mudbox, and sculpted it, all was fine untill I baked the maps... they looked weird as if there was over lapping.....
But the UVs were good....
Why does this happen?

Thanks!

pnoland
03-24-2007, 10:49 AM
Care to share the mudbox file so we can poke and prod at it to see what might be wrong? If you have UV mapped your mesh with no overlapping polygons then it should work correctly...

Jassar
03-24-2007, 10:53 AM
Hey pnoland, I wish I could share it, but it's like 150 Mb and my net is slow :shrug:

but I will post some images to show you what I mean... maybe I did something wrong.
Cheers

Jassar
03-24-2007, 11:06 AM
Here are some pics:

http://uploader.polorix.net//files/316/WIP3D/Disp-error11.jpg
http://uploader.polorix.net//files/316/WIP3D/error-norm11.jpg

The UV layout:
http://uploader.polorix.net//files/316/WIP3D/uv-PunKy.jpg
http://uploader.polorix.net//files/316/WIP3D/Punky-unwrap.jpg

In Mudbox:
http://uploader.polorix.net//files/316/WIP3D/sculpt2222.jpg

this is the mesh after attaching the maps to is.... looks funny to u?
http://uploader.polorix.net//files/316/WIP3D/error1.jpg
Any ideas?

Jassar
03-24-2007, 11:08 AM
oh, in the final pic I've rigged the tantacles.... it's not a deformation :)

khurrum_j
03-24-2007, 11:56 AM
Without the mesh file, its hard to tell whats going on with your model.

It really does look like what Mudbox is telling you: " Texture coordinates are not valid".

The UV's can't be good, or you wont get this distortion. If you have ZBrush, try correcting the UV's there.

BTW, what app did you used to model and unwrap?

KHURRUM

Jassar
03-24-2007, 02:06 PM
Khurrum, I used Blender for modeling and UV unwraping.

If I fix the UV's ( in Blender ) and export another base mesh, can I still use the sculpture I did?
or do I have to start it all over again?

Thanks

khurrum_j
03-24-2007, 02:31 PM
Hi.

Blender has a very good implementation of unwrapping.

In Mudbox, you can delete your base mesh level. Once your done with blender,
import your new base mesh into the same base level in mudbox.

As long as you dont change the mesh topology in Blender in any way, it should come into Mudbox fine.

KHURRUM

Jassar
03-24-2007, 03:18 PM
Thanks Khurrum! I'll see what happenes:)

CGTalk Moderation
03-24-2007, 03:18 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.