PDA

View Full Version : switching to blender and linux?

lukasdesign
03-23-2007, 10:27 AM
Hi there,

i'm gonna a buy a new laptop, quite powerful with an additional 22" screen, but now all of them are gonna be delivered with vista. I'm thinking about switching to linux.

I'm an industrial designer, doing some graphics and webdesign

now my questions are:

rendering is easy: I switch from lightwave to blender,

for drawing: coreldraw to xara, maybe inkscape?

gimp instead of PS, i don't need CMYK!

but: how can I model accuratly in an linux environment? no alias, no rhino, no solidthinking is available?

and flash has no linux substitute?

Anyone that can suggest me any good applications? I have no problem with buying software, so I'm not depending on open source only solutions...or is a dual boot the only solution?

next to that: which linux dis would you suggest?

I would like to get the most out of my hardware!

thanks to all!

Apollux
03-23-2007, 01:02 PM
Here is a big fat secret: Linux can run many Windows applications :), to see a list check http://appdb.winehq.org/appbrowse.php

The distro thing has been asked before and disscused in gruesome detail, so Ill cut to the chase: I recomend OpenSuse 10.2 running with KDE.

lukasdesign
03-23-2007, 04:36 PM
do you have experiences with this wine thing?

is a photoshop running at the same speed as it would on a ms machine?

thanks again!

lukas

AngelDream
03-23-2007, 06:53 PM
One major 3d app for Linux is Softimage XSI which is now on version 6, but you can also model accurately in Blender. You've packages such as Krita for graphics and Scribus for editorial content. Adobe hasn't ported Flash to Linux. There's some Flash alternative in http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UIRA
which is an OpenSource project.
You can download cd-burnable distros and try them out by booting your computer from cd. There are some distros specialized for graphics, video, audio, etc. Good luck!

lukasdesign
03-23-2007, 07:38 PM