PDA

View Full Version : Character Animation Demo Reel

patfour
03-18-2007, 07:39 PM
Hello, everybody! I'm a long time lurker of the CGTalk forums, and I just recently created an accound and started making a few posts here and there. This is the first piece of my own work that I've posted here.

I'm an animation student at the Savannah College of Art and Design, and this is my character animation demo reel. Click on the 'Reel Breakdown' image below to see the video:

http://studentpages.scad.edu/%7Eptille20/Reel_Breakdown_480x600.jpg (http://studentpages.scad.edu/%7Eptille20/Tillery_Online_Reel.mov)

- Click the image above to watch the reel -
(480x360; just over 30 megs)

It's kind of weird to put this in the "Finished Work" category; I've heard it said that a demo reel is always a work in progress, and I agree. Even so, I'm calling this cut done for now, but I'm still very open to critiques. If there's something you don't like about the animation or the reel's presentation, please do rip into it and tell how I can make it better.

Thanks in advance for any feedback!

tomassalles
03-18-2007, 08:18 PM
Hi there,

I hope I can help you with some advice.

Overall I would shorten (by speeding up or by editing the animations) everything on your reel. For example I like the first animation a lot, but I would shorten it to at least a third of its current lenght. The idea is well developed but it takes too long to be concluded.

I would also show less of that second loop and jump quickly to the other works. I like the mixing of medias (that's rare today) Keep trying that I think it brings originality to your work.

Best

Tomas

Kristofferic
03-18-2007, 10:06 PM
Hey patfour. I like the blue screen of death animation, good timing but i've learned recently that it's pacing is kinda long for a reel. Viewers may get bored of the pace and move on.